Apr 19, 2016
Press Release

WASHINGTON - Led by Chairman Randy Forbes (R-VA) and Ranking Member Joe Courtney (D-CT), the Committee on Armed Services Subcommittee on Seapower & Projection Forces today released their proposals for the Fiscal Year 2017 National Defense Authorization Act (NDAA).  The Subcommittee will meet at 3:00 PM on Wednesday, April 20th, in Rayburn 2212.  The markup will be webcast on the committee’s YouTube page.  The Seapower & Projection Forces Subcommittee Mark is available here: Subcommittee Mark.

The Seapower and Projection Forces Subcommittee’s proposal:

  -    Authorizes in the National Sea Based Deterrence Fund the construction funds for the first Ohio class replacement at the amount requested in the President’s Budget and expands the authorities in the National Sea Based Deterrence Fund to include “continuous production” of Ohio class replacement submarines.
  -    Preserves the 10th aircraft carrier air wing.
  -    Authorizes the construction an amphibious assault ship, LHA (8).
  -    Authorizes the refueling and complex overhaul of five aircraft carriers.
  -    Retains 11 cruisers in the fleet that the Navy proposed to induct into long-term modernization.
  -    Prohibits the retirement of mine countermeasures ships until replacement capability is fielded.
  -    Provides the requested funding for the B-21 in fiscal year 2017.

Chairman Forbes and Ranking Member Courtney also recommend:
  -    Funding for an additional amphibious ship to address the shortfall against the Marine Corps' requirements.
  -    Funds an additional Littoral Combat Ship.
  -    Funding for another destroyer to better support Navy operations in a contested environment.
  -    Advance procurement for CVN-81 to support a move to 4-year centered carrier construction and to create economies with CVN-80.
  -    Funds additional C-130Js and C-40As.
  -    Authorizes the construction of a National Security Multi-Mission Vessel.