Washington, DC – House Armed Services Committee Chairman Ike Skelton (D-MO) released the following statement after the House Democratic Caucus approved the nomination of seven new Democratic Members and one Democratic Member returning to the House Armed Services Committee:

 “I extend a warm welcome to the seven freshman Democrats who will be joining the House Armed Services Committee during the 111th Congress:

Congressman Glenn Nye of Virginia;
Congresswoman Chellie Pingree of Maine;
Congressman Larry Kissell of North Carolina;
Congressman Martin Heinrich of New Mexico;
Congressman Frank Kratovil of Maryland;
Congressman Eric Massa of New York, and
Congressman Bobby Bright of Alabama.

 “I’m also pleased that my friend Congressman Jim Langevin of Rhode Island will return to our committee following a leave of absence during the last Congress.  

 “It’s an honor to welcome these Members to the House Armed Services Committee, and I’m confident they will discover they have joined one of the best committees in Congress.  Each of our new and our returning Members will have the opportunity to play an important role as we work together to support our men and women in uniform and protect U.S. national security. ”