Washington, DC - House Armed Services Committee Chairman Adam Smith (D-WA) released an update to the schedule of public events for the week of April 1-5.

Both hearings scheduled for April 4 will begin at 9am.

Full Committee Hearing: The Fiscal Year 2020 National Defense Authorization Budget Request for the Department of Army and the Department of the Air Force

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

(10 am – Rayburn 2118 – Open)


The Honorable Mark T. Esper

Secretary of the Army

U.S. Army

General Mark A. Milley

Chief of Staff

U.S. Army

The Honorable Heather Wilson

Secretary of the Air Force

U.S. Air Force

General David L. Goldfein

Chief of Staff

U.S. Air Force

Subcommittee on Military Personnel Hearing: Examining the Role of the Commander in Sexual Assault Prosecutions

Tuesday, April 2, 2019

(2 pm – Rayburn 2118 – Open)


Panel 1:

Colonel Don Christensen, U.S. Air Force, Retired


Protect Our Defenders

Colonel Ellen Haring, U.S. Army, Retired

Chief Executive Officer

Service Women’s Action Network

Lieutenant Commander Erin Elliot, U.S. Navy

Ms. Nelli Hanson

Ms. Angela Bapp

Lieutenant General Flora Darpino, U.S. Army, Retired

Panel 2:

Lieutenant General Charles N. Pede

The Judge Advocate General

U.S. Army

Vice Admiral John G. Hannink

The Judge Advocate General

U.S. Navy

Lieutenant General Jeffrey A. Rockwell

The Judge Advocate General

U.S. Air Force

Major General Daniel J. Lecce

Staff Judge Advocate to the Commandant of the Marine Corps

U.S. Marine Corps 

Full Committee Hearing: Member Day

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

(9 am – Rayburn 2118 – Open)


Non-Committee Members of Congress – TBD

Subcommittee on Strategic Forces Hearing: Fiscal Year 2020 Priorities for National Security Space Programs 

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

(1:45 pm - Rayburn 2118 – Open)


The Honorable Kenneth Rapuano 

Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and Global Security 

Department of Defense

General John W. Raymond 


Air Force Space Command

The Honorable Christina Chaplain

Director, Acquisition and Sourcing Management  

U.S. Government Accountability Office

Subcommittee on Intelligence and Emerging Threats and Capabilities Hearing:  Reviewing Department of Defense Strategy, Policy, and Programs for Countering Weapons of Mass Destruction for Fiscal Year 2020

Wednesday, April 3, 2019

(2:30 pm – Rayburn 2212 – Open)


The Honorable Guy B. Roberts

Assistant Secretary of Defense for Nuclear, Chemical and Biological Defense Programs

Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Sustainment

Ms. Theresa Whelan

Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Homeland Defense and Global Security

Under Secretary of Defense for Policy

Vice Admiral Timothy G. Szymanski

Deputy Commander

U.S. Special Operations Command

Mr. Vayl S. Oxford

Director, Defense Threat Reduction Agency

Under Secretary of Defense for Acquisition and Sustainment

Subcommittee on Tactical and Land Forces Hearing: Navy and Marine Corps Tactical Aviation and Ground Modernization

Thursday, April 4, 2019

(9 am - Rayburn 2118 – Open)


Vice Admiral Mathias W. Winter

Program Executive Officer, F-35 Lightning II Program

Rear Admiral Scott D. Conn

Director, Air Warfare, Office of the Chief of Naval Operations (OPNAV N98)

Lieutenant General  Steven R. Rudder

Deputy Commandant for Aviation

U.S. Marine Corps

LtGen David H. Berger

Commanding General, Marine Corps Combat Development Command, and the Deputy Commandant for Combat Development and Integration

Mr. Daniel L. Nega

Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy for, Research, Development & Acquisition – Air

Mr. Jimmy D. Smith

Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research, Development & Acquisition - Expeditionary Programs and Logistics Management

Subcommittee on Readiness Hearing: Mismanaged Military Family Housing Programs: What is the Recovery Plan?

Thursday April 4, 2019

(9 am – Rayburn 2212 – Open)


The Honorable Thomas Modly

Under Secretary of the Navy

U.S. Navy

The Honorable Robert H. McMahon

Assistant Secretary of Defense for Sustainment

Department of Defense

The Honorable John W. Henderson

Assistant Secretary of the Air Force for Installations, Environment and Energy

U.S. Air Force

The Honorable Alex A. Beehler

Assistant Secretary of the Army for Installations, Energy and Environment

U.S. Army