Washington, D.C. – Today, House Armed Services Committee Ranking Member Adam Smith (D-WA) made the following statement welcoming new Democratic Members of the Committee for the 115th Congress:

“I am pleased to welcome the new Members who will serve on the Armed Services Committee in the 115th Congress. The organization, support, and training of the United States’ armed forces is one of the most solemn responsibilities we hold in Congress. Those efforts will benefit greatly from your collective judgment and insight.”

The new Democratic Members of the House Armed Services Committee are Jacky Rosen (D-NV), A. Donald McEachin (D-VA), Salud Carbajal (D-CA), Anthony Brown (D-MD), Stephanie Murphy (D-FL), and Ro Khanna (D-CA). In addition, Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI) and Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH) have previously served on the Committee and are now returning after a period of time away from the Committee.