Washington, D.C. – Today, Congressman Gene Taylor (D-Miss.), Chairman of the Subcommittee on Seapower and Expeditionary Forces, announced that the House of Representatives has passed legislation that permits the U.S. Navy to enter into a multi-year, cost savings procurement contract for the F/A 18 series aircraft. Taylor and Rep. Todd Akin, the Ranking Member on the Subcommittee, introduced the Taylor-Akin resolution to protect the nation and save taxpayer dollars.

"Protecting our nation while wisely spending American taxpayer dollars is of primary importance," Congressman Taylor stated. "Permitting the Navy to enter into multi-year procurement contracts for the aircraft our nation needs for our defense is the sensible approach to buying these aircraft."

Under current law, a military service must submit to Congress proof of significant savings in order to enter into a multi-year contract. Because the Navy did not submit this information to Congress for fiscal year 2010, the FY10 National Defense Authorization Act granted an extension to prove significant savings by March of 2010. The Navy subsequently submitted the information but missed the deadline by one month.

"For years, the Armed Services Committee has worked with the Department of Defense to find savings through multi-year equipment purchases." Taylor continued.  "I applaud the Navy's effort to seek a multi-year contract for the F/A-18 aircraft. This contract makes perfect sense especially at a time when our government needs to find more fiscal responsibility. My colleagues in the House have endorsed this proposal, and I hope the Senate will follow suit."

The Taylor-Akin resolution extends the deadline in the FY10 NDAA to account for the late submission. The legislation must pass the U.S. Senate and be signed into law by the end of this month or the Navy will be unable to finalize the contract which would result in a loss of nearly $600 million of taxpayer money.

Taylor is the Chairman of the Seapower and Expeditionary Forces Subcommittee of the House Armed Services Committee.